Newbie here!

Find others with shared interests, events in your area or just gab with new friends
Jadeclover
Window Shopper

Newbie here!

Postby Jadeclover » Mon Sep 19, 2011 9:02 am

Greetings from Upstate NY! I've been trolling this site for a couple of years now, but I wasn't QUITE confident in my sewing skills to try something so involved. But here I am! :D I have patterns on the way and I can't wait to get started. I might need some advice in the near future so please, be kind!
MaryGode
Inquiring Mind

Re: Newbie here!

Postby MaryGode » Mon Sep 19, 2011 12:51 pm

Image Welcome!
Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society. ~MarkTwain
Jadeclover
Window Shopper

Postby Jadeclover » Thu Sep 22, 2011 9:52 am

Thanks! I received my patterns in the mail yesterday (all eight of them!!) I'm making complete costumes for three friends and myself for a convention in Virginia we are going to the first weekend of November. A little bit of a late start but I think I can pull it off...maybe :shock:
MaryGode
Inquiring Mind

Postby MaryGode » Thu Sep 22, 2011 10:20 am

You can do it! Last year I did thirteen outfits for our heritage event between August and October. Can your friends help out? I love a good sewing bee, and anybody can be taught to cover and sew on buttons, for instance.

My older daughter is very proud of the five yards of ruffle she edge finished and gathered for me to use on the bottom of her natural form dress. ( :mrgreen: <---Daughter's face )
Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society. ~MarkTwain
loretta t
Costume Afflicted

Postby loretta t » Thu Sep 22, 2011 12:41 pm

You can do it, remember to eat an elephant you just do it one bite at a time.
My grandma always said I was an old soul in a new body.
Jadeclover
Window Shopper

Postby Jadeclover » Mon Oct 31, 2011 6:16 am