Newcomer from up North

Find others with shared interests, events in your area or just gab with new friends
MissieCat
Window Shopper

Newcomer from up North

Postby MissieCat » Sun Feb 20, 2011 6:39 pm

Hello,

I've been lurking around these boards for the last week or so, so I thought it's time I finally registered and introduce myself. My name is Catherine and I currently live in the middle of nowhere in the north of the province of Quebec, in Canada. I'm a librarian, and, up until now, have mostly been collecting antique victorian clothing. but... I can never wear those, because they're too small or too fragile. So, now I found the truly victorian patterns and will try to make my own (despite the fact that I live too far to have any event to wear them to lol...) I really am a newbie at sewing. I learned basics from my mom and home economics class, but I have very little pratice, so I'll probably be asking quite a lot of questions! I'm really looking forward to starting my first dress...

MissieCat
Miss Cindy
Information Junkie

Re: Newcomer from up North

Postby Miss Cindy » Mon Feb 21, 2011 11:19 am

Dear MissieCat,
Welcome aboard! This is the best place to go for Victorian dresses.
TV patterns are incredibly easy to work with and logical and beautiful. Jump in and enjoy. I still feel like a newbie at sewing, tho' I have been working on it for a few years. Heather's patterns will help easy that fear factor. And Heather is such a wonderful help!
Looking forward to seeing your creations.
And if it helps you any, I live where there are no Victorian activities, but it has not stopped me from enjoying these wonderful dresses. :)
Sincerely,
Miss Cindy
and where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is liberty. 2 Cor 3:17b
SarahS
Inquiring Mind

Postby SarahS » Tue Feb 22, 2011 1:13 am