Greetings from Vänersborg

Find others with shared interests, events in your area or just gab with new friends
Soundbrigade
Costume Afflicted

Greetings from Vänersborg

Postby Soundbrigade » Thu Nov 05, 2009 2:22 pm

I registered here 78+ years ago, but it wasn't until today I finally signed in.
I have been sewing corsets for 9 years and dresses yet another 6 years before that.
I am 56 yo, living in W Sweden with Natasha, my wife since 1995.
Also I am building tube amplifier and loudspeakers, and this hobby has sort of taken too much energy from my sewing, but I am just about to have a new start, and even try to get beyond the use of readymade patterns and try to sew non-standard designed corsets.
I hope I can share my ideas with you especially as I have a rather pragmatic way of looking at problems.
Magnus

When in trouble, when in doubt
Run in circles, scream and shout.
Miss Cindy
Information Junkie

Postby Miss Cindy » Mon Nov 09, 2009 4:07 pm

Welcome aboard!
I must say, I laughed while reading your message.
Amps and loudspeakers seem so distant from making corsets and dresses. :D
Thank you for sharing your knowledge with us! It is always good to have more ideas from different perspectives.
Sincerely,
Miss Cindy
and where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is liberty. 2 Cor 3:17b
Soundbrigade
Costume Afflicted

Postby Soundbrigade » Tue Nov 10, 2009 1:42 am

Well, don't laugh to much!! :wink: Amplifiers and Corsets have a lot in common, at least för me.
First of all it is great fun keeping my hands occupied soldering an amplifier together or sewing a corset. While doing so, I can see the result in front of me; I know this will become something VERY spectacular.
Second, my ampliers are constructed not only to sing sweet melodies but also looking attractive or original. That's the idea with my corsets, at least now a days. I try to find un-typical fabrics and models that gives the corsets an un-corsetty look.