newbie to fitting historical fashion - TV403

Find out how to get that dang thing to fit.
goldcountrymom
Window Shopper

newbie to fitting historical fashion - TV403

Postby goldcountrymom » Mon Feb 05, 2018 9:48 pm

Hi Heather (and all),

I've made my first mockup of TV403 and have some fit issues that I am unsure how to correct because I am a total newbie and not a super experienced sewer. The two main problems seem to be there is too much fabric above the bust and the sleeves have too much fabric around the shoulders.

My daughter's measurements are:
Bust: 36 1/2" size E
Back: 13" size C
waist : 25.5"
hips: 35.5"
around the arm: 15.5" both sides size A
arm length : 17

The length of the bodice and sleeves seem right on.

I took in the front darts and took in the seam at the top of the shoulder 1/2 inch on the front which alleviated some of the extra fabric but there is still several inches extra between the front closure and the armpit, i.e. baggy on the chest above the bust.

The mockup armhole measures about 17.5 inches around while her armhole measurement was 15.5 and the sleeve head seems to be about 22 inches around so a really big difference there.

Additional questions:
Where should the top point of the darts fall? Below the bust or at the apex? I did not know if I should lower them since I removed 1/2 inch at the shoulder?

Where should the outer seam of the sleeve fall and which way is best to remove some of the extra sleeve material at the shoulder?

I will try to edit this to attach some pictures if I can successfully get them from my phone.

Thanks in advance,

Lauren
goldcountrymom
Window Shopper

Re: newbie to fitting historical fashion - TV403

Postby goldcountrymom » Mon Feb 05, 2018 10:31 pm

Here are some pics. Sorry about the size and quality.
Attachments
image1.jpg
image1.jpg (205.15 KiB) Viewed 2795 times
front.jpg
front.jpg (215.81 KiB) Viewed 2795 times
back.jpg
back.jpg (210.64 KiB) Viewed 2795 times
Heather
Site Admin