Help! My waist size is bigger than my hip and bust sizes

Find out how to get that dang thing to fit.
heidihussainabadi
Window Shopper

Help! My waist size is bigger than my hip and bust sizes

Postby heidihussainabadi » Tue Dec 12, 2017 8:51 pm

Hi, I am new to using TV patterns and am confused with the sizing of bodices. It all makes sense with "adjusted front and back" pieces, until you factor in that my waist measurement makes me a size J (or I with the corset superlaced) but my adjusted front and back measurements are a size G. I am afraid to cut out any pattern pieces at size G in case they then won't fit round the waist.

However, if I trace and cut everything as size J, I'm afraid the top part of any bodice patterns will be out.

Please can you tell me which way to go here? I've got 5 different bodice patterns here to figure out and can't start till I resolve this issue.

Thanks.
Heather
Site Admin

Re: Help! My waist size is bigger than my hip and bust sizes

Postby Heather » Wed Dec 13, 2017 8:20 pm

There is a great way to add fabric to the waistline without adding it to the bust. This will work with any regular bodices, but is harder to do with longer garments like polonaises and princess dresses.